Album Reviews

18 Hours of “Hacked” Rare and Unreleased Radiohead Recordings RELEASED from OK Computer Era

Thom Yorke - Bill Graham Civic. San Francisco, CA.

Radiohead’s Thom Yorke in 2018. Photo by Clay Lancaster.

UPDATE: Radiohead has officially responded and released Thom Yorke’s “hacked” minidisc archives on Bandcamp. Available for 18 days, for £18. The singer’s response:

“we’ve been hacked

my archived mini discs from 1995-1998(?)

it’s not v interesting

there’s a lot of it

if you want it, you can buy the whole lot here

18 minidisks for £18

the proceeds will go to Extinction Rebellion

as it’s out there

it may as well be out there

until we all get bored

and move on”

—original post—

Believed to be a series of 18 minidiscs, hours of unreleased, demo, studio, alternate, acoustic, rehearsal, and rumored Radiohead material has leaked onto the internet… complete with a color-coded and time-stamped Google Docs roadmap to explain everything.

Each disc contains roughly an hour of audio from the OK Computer era of the band’s work (1996-1997) and perhaps earlier. It is not publicly known who leaked the material, or how it was obtained.

Some of the highlights in the treasure trove of tracks include:

  • A full band demo version of “True Love Waits”
  • Various finished studio mixes of “Lift”
  • Full band demo versions of “Motion Picture Soundtrack”
  • Full band demo version of “Nude”
  • Early rehearsal of the original 11-minute version of “Paranoid Android”
  • Unreleased full band demo titled “Attention”
  • Thom Yorke beatboxing
  • Stacks of unreleased acoustic Thom Yorke songs in bedroom demo form
  • Various rehearsals and jams

Christmas indeed has come early to die hard Radiohead fans, although many have criticized the leak as dishonest and potentially hurting the release of future bonus material for projects like the upcoming 20th anniversary of 2000’s Kid A.