Music News

Soul Asylum to Release Change of Fortune in March

Soul Asylum partners with Entertainment One Music (eOne Music)
to release an album of all new material titled Change of Fortune on March 18th,
2016. When asked about the band’s upcoming and 11th studio album, frontman
David Pirner replied “Everything on the menu is excellent.”

”We are thrilled to be working with such a great trailblazing band as Soul
Asylum,” adds Chuck Oliner, Director of Marketing and Promotions, eOne
Music.  “We wait to lead off 2016 with the first single from their new
album Change of Fortune.  Loyal Soul Asylum fans will be blown away with the
new album, and new fans will understand why we are all so excited they are
back.   Welcome back Soul Asylum, and get ready to see Dave, Michael,
Winston and Justin on tour in 2016.”

The band’s PledgeMusic campaign offers pledger exclusives that include signed
copies of the new album, your name in the liner notes, live and rare Grave Dancers
Union download, custom t-shirt designed for Pledgers only, Skype drum workshop with
Michael Bland, guest list for life, private acoustic show, private full band
concert, original Dave Pirner artwork, vintage band promotional posters and much
more. Pledging also allows access to a Pledger-only section of the site where the
band is continuously posting video updates, audio clips and more. New pledger
exclusives are being added weekly so check it out at

After several indie releases on Minneapolis’ Twin/Tone Records and A&M,
Soul Asylum released its groundbreaking album Grave Dancers Union, which included
the Grammy Award winning “Runaway Train.” Soul Asylum followed up this
success with Let Your Dim Light Shine in 1995, which climbed to #6 on the Billboard
200 and featured the #1 Modern Rock track “Misery.” After releasing
Candy From a Stranger in 1998, the band members wanted to concentrate on writing and
took a break from recording. The band reconvened in 2004 to begin work on their
ninth full-length album, joined by a new drummer, Michael Bland. Sadly, shortly
thereafter, bassist Karl Mueller was diagnosed with throat cancer and passed away
after finishing his work on the new album.  The Silver Lining was released in
2006 and was dedicated to Karl’s life and memory. The band took a long
and unscheduled hiatus as they grieved and dealt with the loss of their friend and
band-mate.  In 2012 Soul Asylum released the aptly titled Delayed Reaction that
was deemed “quick to embrace” by influential music blog Consequence of

Change of Fortuneis three years in the making, recorded while the band toured
non-stop, had a few line-up changes and some soul searching, but upon listening to
Change of Fortune, the wait is most certainly worth it.  Soul Asylum loyalists
will be happy to discover the group’s trademark ragged-but-right sound is still
very much intact.

The heart and soul of Soul Asylum remains and they continue to produce heartfelt and
passionate rock n’ roll.  The band consists of David Pirner on guitar and
vocals, Michael Bland on drums, Winston Roye on bass and Justin Sharbono on