Music News

Bipolar Sunshine’s Drowning Butterflies EP to be Released 12/10/13 on Priority Records

Already crowned Manchester’s “One To Watch,” Bipolar Sunshine returns with sophomore EP Drowning Butterflies, set to be released December 10 in the US via Priority Records/Capitol Music Group. Following his lauded debut, Aesthetics EP [UK only release], Bipolar Sunshine quickly racked up a fan base amongst the media as well as his peers, and this sophomore release will further introduce him stateside.

Bipolar Sunshine is the alias of soft-spoken Adio Marchant. The Drowning Butterflies 4-song EP reveals a songwriter difficult to pigeonhole. He’s rooted in Paul Simon as much as The Streets. “Marchant has an uncanny ear for vocal melodies and harmonies that have separated his music from similarly fragile contemporaries,” praised Pigeons and Planes.

His soulful voice carries the catchy hooks and lilting melodies as his poetic lyrics coast along subtle beats. Yet it’s still pop music – the semi-electronic kind, where uplifting sounds and somber lyrics co-exist seamlessly.

Lead track “Love More Worry Less” is somewhat inspirational amidst the uncompromising subject matter, delivered in Marchant’s unique conversational vocals. Revered tastemaker Zane Lowe called the song the “hottest record in the world” on one of his shows while FADER wrote: “Judging by what he’s teased so far—demonstrating the dexterity to pull off both witty speak-rapping, and the bolder rock singing here—it’s primed for big things.”

Marchant has already spent time on the road opening for the likes of Rudimental, Haim and Bastille and now returns to the stage alongside Rudimental early next year in the UK. Shortly after, Marchant will make his live debut in the States.